Forza Motorsport 6 announces Formula E cars

This is pretty exciting news.  The full 2014/2015 Formula E grid is going to be in Forza Motorsport 6!

Here is part of the announcement:

The Forza Garage is now open! At E3 2015 we pulled back the curtain on Forza Motorsport 6 for the first time, including revealing 117 of the more than 450 cars that will make up the Forza 6 car list.

Starting now and leading up to the release of Forza Motorsport 6 on Sept. 15, we’ll be revealing more details each week on the full car list for the game, including additional information on the new tracks being brought to the racing world as well.

Today’s Forza Garage announcement kicks off with a bang with the announcement of ten FIA Formula E cars making their debuts in Forza Motorsport 6. The original 2014 Renault Spark SRT_01E made its worldwide debut in Forza Motorsport 5 as a DLC car – this time, the entire field of the 2014/2015 FIA Formula E season will be represented for the first time in a console racing game.

The 2015 Formula E #10 Trulli Spark SRT_01E

Formula E is a new FIA championship and the world’s first fully-electric racing series. It represents a vision for the future of the motor industry, serving as a framework for research and development around the electric vehicle, accelerating general interest in these cars and promoting sustainability. The first race took place in Beijing in September 2014, the first of 11 races taking place in major cities around the world including London, Berlin, and Moscow. For the inaugural season, 10 teams, each with two drivers, compete head-to-head, creating a unique and exciting racing series designed to appeal to a new generation of motorsport fans.

While still in its youth, Formula E racing requires strategic use of the limited charge of the racecar’s battery. During a pit stop, the entire car is swapped rather than changing batteries. Elements such as Fan Boost, where race fans vote for which driver should get an additional power adder, make the series even more immersive for fans.

The cars are not silent – their sound is unique and very prevalent with a recordable level of no more than 80 db, not much more than the average commuter car. Acceleration is impressive with 0-60 attainable in less than three seconds. Top speeds are around 140 mph.

This past weekend’s 2015 Formula E season finale brought city circuit racing back to the city of London after a 40-year hiatus. NEXTEV TCR driver Nelson Piquet Jr. was crowned as the first Formula E champion after finishing seventh place at the Battersea Park circuit, earning enough points to secure the first Formula E title.

Now have a look at the cars and teams, as well as the primary drivers who competed this season:

2015 Formula E #55 Amlin Aguri Spark SRT_01E

Drivers: Sakon Yamamoto and Salvador Duran. Representing Japan is a coalition of global insurer Amlin and proven technological innovation through Aguri’s Formula One heritage. The team hope to inspire eco-conscious transportation solutions though their joint venture.

2015 Formula E #11 ABT FE 01

Drivers: Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt. Bringing their success in DTM to the new world of Formula E racing is Abt Sportsline and Principal Hans-Jürgen Abt. Abt is one of the most successful German teams with titles in endurance and GT racing.

2015 Formula E #10 Trulli Spark SRT_01E

Drivers: Jarno Trulli and Alex Fontana. Swiss co-founder and driver Jarno Trulli has competed in 256 Grand Prix in Formula One and is a business entrepreneur. One of the amazing goals for Trulli is to adopt and prove wireless charging technology.

2015 Formula E #99 NEXTEV TCR FE01

Drivers: 2015 Formula-E champion Nelson Piquet and Oliver Turvey. Team China Racing (TCR) is authorized by the Ministry of Sports in China and led by Steven Lu. TCR started in 2004 and competes in many racing disciplines from GP2 to FIA GT1.

2015 Formula E #27 Andretti Formula E Spark SRT_01E

Drivers: Jean-Eric Vergne and Simona de Silvestro. The Andretti name is synonymous with racing and so who better to field one of the two American efforts in the inaugural Formula E seasons. Andretti racing boasts wins in every category of racing they have endeavored in.

2015 Formula E #23 Venturi 1

Drivers: Nick Heidfeld and Stéphane Sarrazin. The team is based out of Monte Carlo and owned by actor Leonardo DiCaprio and Gildo Pallanca Pastor, founder of EV manufacturer Venturi Automobiles. Venturi is the current holder of the land speed record for electric vehicles having reached a speed of 307 mph.

2015 Formula E #21 Mahindra M2Electro

Drivers: Karun Chandhok and Bruno Senna. Mahindra is a huge multinational group employing more than 180,000 people worldwide. It is the only Indian team to race in Formula E but not a stranger to international motorsport.

2015 Formula E #9 e.dams-Renault Spark SRT_01E

Drivers: Nicolas Prost and Sébastien Buemi. Co-founder Alain Prost needs no introduction as one of the winningest Formula One drivers in history. He has paired himself with Jean-Paul Driot founder of top single-seater team owner Dams. The team is based just outside Le Mans, France.

2015 Formula E #6 Dragon Racing Spark SRT_01E

Drivers: Jerome D’Ambrosio and Loic Duval. When the Penske name is attached to anything in racing, you can bet it will have success. Son of Roger Penske, Jay Penske started Dragon Racing in 2007 at the Indianapolis 500 and landed an amazing fifth upon the team’s debut.

2015 Formula E #2 Virgin Racing VIR 01E

Drivers: Sam Bird and Fabio Leimer. Sir Richard Branson has been known for his eccentricity and innovation through the pioneering technologies of Virgin. It’s only natural to see Virgin’s presence on the forefront of EV racing. Virgin represents the British effort in Formula E.

They have also starting announcing more of the 450 car roster.

Not long now – just over two months to go before we get to play a new Forza game  🙂

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.